Scenes from the 2023 McKnight’s Pinnacle Awards Ceremony, including (top left) more than a dozen winners showing off their awards and (bottom right) Robert G. Kramer (center) posing with his Career Achievement Award, flanked by NIC colleagues and other supporters.

If you’re counting today, you have less than three days to finish your nomination in the 2024 McKnight’s Pinnacle Awards program. Nominations must be in by midnight Sunday (Nov. 5), which closes the late-filing window, organizers remind.

The good news is, outstanding veterans of long-term care are easily identifiable and the entry process is straightforward and relatively basic. Check the entry form here.

“There are outstanding, dedicated leaders worthy of this recognition in just about every high-quality company in the field,” observed McKnight’s Associate Publisher and Editorial Director John O’Connor. “This is a wonderful, fitting way to honor colleagues, mentors and others who are looked up to.”

To recap many of the salient points: The Pinnacle Awards honor outstanding long-term care leaders with 20 or more years of experience in skilled nursing, senior living or home care who are setting new standards, driving change, providing guidance and inspiring others in the industry.

Nominations are judged by an independent panel of national experts.

Now in its second year, the program kicked off with a rousing start last year by honoring some of the most well-known, as well as numerous lower-profile, long-term care leaders around. You can check out coverage of the 2023 celebration and winners here.

The 2024 finalists will be announced Dec. 11. Winners will be recognized at an in-person gala awards ceremony and banquet March 21, 2024, at the iconic Ivy Room in Chicago.Learn more about the awards and nominate someone at or here.

The award categories for nominations are:

  • Setting the Standard Award
  • Agent of Change Award
  • Inspiration Award
  • Thought Leader Award
  • Unsung Hero Award
  • Industry Ally (for elected officials, high-level government administrators, trade group members, analysts, influential academics or researchers, other thought leaders, etc.)
  • Business Partner (for vendors/sponsors that have helped move the sector forward)

In addition, one Career Achievement Award will be bestowed, as determined by program organizers. Read about the 2023 Career Achievement Award winner, Robert Kramer, here.

The program is coordinated by McKnight’s Long-Term Care News, McKnight’s Senior Living and McKnight’s Home Care.